Florida’s Waters

It’s Sunday morning
Dreamt of my walks on the silk beach sands of Neptune
I wake up at Eleven
A picture of my footsteps on these sands seem uneven
Looking on
Wondering what’s at the other end of these waters
An instant recollection of one of my fave tracks by Stone Mecca ‘A walk’
I love that song
My sense of admiration of this place had almost had enough
Wishing I had my iPod
I hum the chorus almost loud in my head
A little smile at myself as I snap my fingers to the unsung rhythm
He gazes at me from a long distance across the shore
I look up feeling the rays of sun hit my face
I realise the depths of my my dips
The soothing warmth of these waters
I am wet from calves to feet
A moment of distraction from my bliss of peace
I only hear the waves and his thoughts
It’s quiet, calm, beautiful
The skies almost in hues of color between gold and blue
As if in anticipated clarity
We both walk in parallel directions towards the wooden beach house
I feel a moment of epiphany
Seated next to each other on the derelict steps of the porch
We hold hands
He takes my beach wicker hat off and puts it on
I smile at him
He winks
Oh my little heart sinks
We watch the waves go
The sun set
The skies camouflage
He lifts my feet
Dusts the residue of white sands off
Puts my sandals back on
We walk back south
Down the path through the shack
Drove Upstate
Into a happy place
One filled with people such as us
A little whisper and smile again within
Embellished in the pages of my heart’s diaries
I engraved:
“I loved this escape
All I needed was to be here forever”
He gave me the picture
I colored a 1000 words

Leave a Reply

